Chrome 69 now shares your history with Google from Gmail

Chrome 69 now shares your history with Google from Gmail
Chrome 69, the latest version of the popular Google web browser, brings some welcome changes; but it also seems that you now log in to the browser automatically when you sign in to Google's websites and services; which then upload your browsing history, as well as other information, to Google.

In previous versions of Chrome, you could visit Gmail, YouTube or other Google websites and log in without logging into the browser. While signing in to your Google account in Chrome offers benefits, such as synchronizing your bookmarks and passwords; There are several privacy reasons why you would like to keep that information stored locally on your PC, instead of sharing it with Google.

It also means that if you are using a shared computer to quickly browse the Internet and check your emails in Gmail, you will want to take extra precautions to make sure you are totally disconnected when you are finished.

This step is another step that Google has taken to blur the boundaries between your software and its services; and many people are understandably worried.

Expected use

According to a blog post titled "Chrome is a Google service that includes a browser engine"; When members of the security community noticed this change and raised it with Google, they were told that this was the expected behavior.

People who work at Google have apparently claimed that this feature was designed to help avoid complications when someone signs in to Chrome; and another person uses that browser to log in to their own Google account when they visit a Google website.

If you are a regular user of Google services and are connected to Chrome anyway, this change probably does not worry you too much. However, if you do not like the idea of ​​Google's growing collection of data about your online habits, then maybe it's time to think about switching to a safer web browser.

It's worth noting that passwords and bookmarks are not synchronized by default when you automatically sign in to Chrome 69; but that may not be enough to dispel people's security fears.

If you want to make sure that your web browsing history is not loaded, open the Chrome Settings page and under your username you will see 'Synchronize'. Click on that and disable everything you do not want to sync online; including your browsing history.

How to protect privacy in Google Chrome 69

At the moment, Google has not implemented this measure in your browser as something that can not be avoided. In fact, we can disable the option very easily. If you think it's a violation of privacy or simply do not want Chrome to log in automatically when using other services, you should only follow these steps:

  1. In the Chrome browser, enter "chrome://flags/#account-consistency".
  2. We will enter a menu in which we will see as the first option "Identity consistency between browser and cookie jar".
  3. In the drop-down to the right, we have to check the option "disable" to deactivate the option.

Once this is done, the only thing we must do to finish is to click on "relaunch now" to restart Google Chrome and not to re-login if we start it in any other Google start.

Post a Comment

0 Comments